Last November 2023, Google introduced Google Consent Mode v2, imposing 6 March 2024 as the deadline for adding the function to one’s own website or app. But what has actually changed?
First of all, it is necessary to understand what Consent Mode is, so let’s take a step back.

Getting to know Google Consent Mode

Google’s ‘Consent Mode’ is a feature introduced to help websites manage user consent for the use of cookies and online activity tracking more flexibly.
The first version of Google Consent Mode was introduced in 2020 for specific reasons:

  • online privacy protection for all users for data collection
  • requesting the integration of more transparent and user-friendly consent mechanisms
  • solving the decline in attributed/reported conversions of advertisers who had implemented consent banners

In conclusion, this feature aims to give users more control over their online privacy by allowing website owners to tailor activity tracking according to user preferences. At the same time, it helps advertisers comply with regulations while continuing to get the most out of platforms such as Google Ads or Analytics.

digital marketing specialist mentre lavora al computer

What are the advantages?

Instead of completely blocking the sending of information every time a user chooses not to consent, you can decide to send anonymous data to Google, so-called cookieless data, i.e. without personal information.

How does it work? Sensitive information is not lost, thanks to this feature Google estimates data based on those who have accepted profiling: in fact, Big G has stated that Consent Mode correctly recovers about 65% of the ad-click-to-conversion paths lost due to the user’s cookie consent choices.

What has changed in March 2024?

Version 2 was necessary in order to keep up in an ever-changing industry: users are demanding even more transparency, artificial intelligence is increasingly present and the Digital Markets Act (DMA) is coming into force to ensure a fairer landscape.

As a result, the largest digital platforms, including Google, have been ‘forced’ to comply with the new system of consent and data processing rules.

But it doesn’t end there, because in order to continue to get the most out of Google’s services, in addition to activating GCM, your website or app must fulfil another requirement: include an EUUCP-compliant consent banner.

Let us open a small parenthesis.
The consent banner communicates each user’s preferences to Google Consent Mode, which modifies the operation of Google products to respect their privacy. This tool provides meaningful data on users who do not consent to tracking, keeping their privacy safe.

progettista e sviluppatore mentre lavorano insieme ad un nuovo progetto

Two new tags for Google Consent Mode

Whereas in the previous version there were two main tags, analytics_storage (cookies installed for analytical purposes) and ad_storage (cookies installed for advertising purposes), in V2 two new parameters have been added:

  • ad_user_data, which defines whether user data can be sent to Google for advertising purposes;
  • ad_personalisation, which defines whether personalised advertising can be enabled, e.g. remarketin g.

We can therefore say that the first two refer to data collection, the last two to how the data are used or shared.

What happens if you don't comply?

During the course of the year, all advertisers not using Google Consent Mode will lose the ability to access audience measurement and segmentation features for European (EEA) users.

You will therefore lose valuable data and information that is crucial to the marketing and success of your business. Remember: investing in user privacy is not only a responsibility, but also a way to build trust and loyalty to your brand in the long term!